

2013 AGM Minutes

1 p.m., Saturday, June 22, 2013 George Wright House 989 Young Avenue, Halifax

Members: Kirk Furlotte, Lisa Buchanan, Chris Aucoin, Kate Shewan, Andrew Jantzen, Kevin Kindred, Bryn Jones-Vaillancourt, Jenn Nearing, Emma Devost, Frank Bezanson, Tia Larkin, Laurie Murray, Owen Johnstone, Adam Myatt, Sheena Jamieson, Elizabeth Dumke, Kathryn Dumke, Anne-Marie Foot, Anders Balderston, Lucas Thorne-Humphrey, Anne Quema, Dean MacMillan, Trina Hanson, Patrick Daigle, Jacqueline Vincent, Ezra O'Brien, Beck Osborne, Genevieve Flavelle, Brenda Hattie, Pamela Harrison, Hugo Dann, Daphne Goodwin, Sara Mukherji, Rebecca Rose, Laura Shephard, Daniel Grandy

Guests: Anthony Farrow, Skye Cross, Quin Smith, Hal Walsh

Chair Kevin Kindred called the meeting to order at 1:24 p.m. with a quorum (more than five members). Chair reviewed the agenda for the day and outlined housekeeping items.

Approval of agenda

Agenda was amended by Chair to move the review of 2012 AGM minutes to the second-last item. Motion: To accept the agend as amended moved by Lucas Thorne-Humphrey, seconded by Kathryn Dumke. Motion carried.

Motion: To appoint Kirk as acting secretary for the AGM by Kate Shewan, seconded by Andrew Jantzen. Motion carried.

Annual Activity Report

All attendees received a copy of the 12-page 2013 Annual Activity Report. The Report included reports from the Kevin Kindred as Chair of NSRAP, Chris Aucoin as Administrative Coordinator, Lisa Buchanan as chair of the Communications & Membership Committee, Kate Shewan as Treasurer and chair of the Finance & Fundraising Committee, Kevin Kindred as chair of the Government Relations Committee, Lucas Thorne-Humphrey as chair of the Health Committee, Kirk Furlotte on behalf of the Outreach & Events Committee and unaudited financial statements prepared by Kate Shewan. Each person spoke briefly about highlights from their respective area. Rebecca Rose promoted the 2014 gala and recruited volunteers.

Kate Shewan presented the year-end, unaudited financial report with the amendment that there was an error in the printed report regarding years.

Motion: To accept the financial report as amended by Lucas Thorne-Humphrey, seconded by Kathryn Dumke. Motion carried.

Nomination of Directors

Chair introduced slate of board nominees and asked those in attendance to present themselves:

• John Britton



- Lisa Buchanan
- Kirk Furlotte
- Andrew Jantzen
- Kevin Kindred
- Kate Shewan
- Lucas Thorne-Humphrey
- Rebecca Rose
- Hugo Dann
- Bryn Jones-Vaillancourt
- Adam Myatt
- Jacqueline Vincent

Chair called for nominations from the floor.

Lucas Thorne-Humphrey nominated member Dean MacMillan, who accepted the nomination and was added to the slate of nominees.

Member Owen Johnstone self-nominated and was added to the slate of nominees.

Member Ezra O'Brien self-nominated and was added to slate of nominees.

Motion: To accept elect current slate of nominees by Kathryn Dumke, seconded by Beck Osborne. No objections. Motion carried.

Other Business

Chair called for other business. None was heard.

Review and Approval of 2012 AGM Minutes

Participants were asked to review the minutes from 2012.

Motion: To amend the 2012 AGM minutes to reflect the name of the 2011 Rev. Darlene Young Community Hero Award as Marshall Haywood by Hugo Dann, seconded by Beck Osborne. Motion carried.

Chair confirmed minutes with amendment approved as read.

Motion: To accept annual report as read by Lucas Thorne-Humphrey, seconded by Jacqueline Vincent. Motion carried.

Acknowledgements

Chair acknowledged Leonard Preyra for use of the space, partner organizations for their help and support, members and volunteers for the involvement and attendees.

Adjournment

Motion: To adjourn by Jacqueline Vincent, seconded by Bryn Jones-Vaillancourt. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 2:36 p.m.